My Poetry

A haven for all I’ve written

World War III

Posted by Josh on July 26, 2008

A rancid acidic wind flowing
Over the dark, whithered, and decaying petals of a rose
That was left by a young lover on the stoop
Of someone that the idea of God only knows

The violet hue of the sky this night
Turned the empty grey street to colorfullness
Like an Autumn leaf landing on the lawn
Proving to many of a new season’s hopefullness

But the abolition of these times prove
The only seasons we’ll see is a nuclear winter
Sweeping over valleys and the roads of towns
Like a plague, where nobody can be the victor

A joyful whistle came to be a wretched sound
Melting souls like a genocide planned perfectly
But when power and greed are gone, the world survives
By the tiny trees that the war didn’t see.

One Response to “World War III”

  1. rfbellamie said

    Your imagery and language in this piece are incredible. I think that they’re a bit wasted on the subject matter… But I respect your artistic vision. I hope to see similar writing as I browse your work. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment